top of page

Inhibitions to Creativity

What inhibits my creativity as an artist? This is a question that requires transparency and openness to answer. I see the creativity in my fellow classmates of my master's program and think, "Wow! That is out of the box thinking. I wish I had thought of it!" Creativity is using one's imagination and various materials to create something different. One of the factors that inhibits my creativity is self-confidence. Lack of self-confidence or low self-confidence can be rooted in a variety of life events that last a life time. For example, Vincent Van Gogh created artwork in his early years as an artist and gave these to his mother as gifts. His mother took his work and used them to fill in holes of the chicken wire on their property. I'm not saying Van Gogh's chicken coop incident has happened to me, but it is the rejection of the work by a person whose opinion is valued that leads to low-self confidence. As an undergraduate art student, I experienced an instructor completely devaluing the work I spent hours upon hours working on and getting to the point I thought was just right. To be embarrassed in front of a class of peers by an instructor is humiliating and difficult to overcome. Another factor that inhibits creativity is time. It takes time to research, plan, revise ideas before even setting up a canvas or story board for a work. Creating the work itself will take another truck load of hours that is difficult to find when working full time. Another factor is burn out. Coming home from a full day's work needing to be creative late nights is difficult. Burning out is easy to do and hard to get away from when trying to balance, work, graduate school, and other commitments. Self-confidence, time and burn out are the top three inhibitions to creativity. Ways to overcome these would begin with purposely planning time to relax, recover and just have fun. Sometimes that could be in the form of reading a book (preferably not one assigned by one of the professors. LOL), going to a movie or taking spa day. Maybe if I took part in these more often, my creative juices would be better put to use.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page