top of page

Do you ever remember getting in trouble for making art?

Do you ever remember getting in trouble for making art? I think about my childhood and I have no distinct memories where I was reprimanded for making art. The answer is a definite no. This may be because my grandmother was the family seamstress. She would spend hours at her sewing machine making blouses and skirts for my sisters, mother and aunt. I would sit at her feet collecting the scraps of fabric wondering why I nor my grandfather received any custom made fashion from the magical device that was my grandmother's sewing machine. Why did the chunka chunka chunka chunka of the machine only produce items for my sisters? My questions led to curiosity which fed my creativity. I began making art similar to my grandmother only on a much smaller scale. The fabric and foam scraps were gold to me. I coveted them and didn't want to share. I became a fashion designer and began sewing pants and football jerseys for my action figures. I continued drawingTransformers battles on notebook paper with pencil and crayons. No one took notice of me for the most part until I started sneaking into my mother's sewing kit and taking needles to sew football pads into the jerseys I made for my action figures. There wasn't a reprimand or getting in trouble, I just had to hand over my mother's favorite needle back to her. I did not see this as making art at the time. The term art had not entered my vocabulary as a middle school child yet. I believe because creativity was something my grandmother practiced when making clothes for my mom and sisters, I was left alone in the world of my imagination. I think another reason I did not get in trouble for making art was that there was no formal art class at school and different family members exhibited creativity in various areas. No, I didn't get in trouble for making art. I believe that art made me.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page